Our history

The first Auditor-General was appointed in 1851, making us one of the oldest public sector institutions in Victoria.

The first Auditors-General examined the State of Victoria's finances and assessed whether the state’s financial reports provided a fair and accurate representation of its financial position at 30 June each year. Over time, VAGO was asked to broaden its work to look at how effectively the public sector was performing and using public resources.

Our auditing approach continues to evolve to reflect legislative reform and changes in auditing practice and standards. We now have ‘follow-the-dollar’ powers and can extend our performance audits to assess how well private contractors deliver public services using public resources.

Auditors-General since 1851

Name Term
Andrew Greaves 2016–present
John Doyle 2013–2015
Des Pearson 2006–2012
Wayne Cameron 1999–2006
Chesleigh Antony Baragwanath 1988–1999
Richard Humphry 1986–1988
Brian Joseph Waldron 1977–1986
Bruce Hamilton 1970–1977
Arthur John Alliance Gardner 1965–1970
Redvers William Gillard 1957–1965
Edward A Peverill 1938–1957
John Alexander Norris 1919–1937
Frederick Horatio Bruford 1903–1919
James Hamilton Reid 1902–1903
James Bagge 1902
Charles Alfred Topp* 1901–1902
Alfred William Howitt* 1895–1902
Arthur Moorah* 1890–1902
J W Fosberry* 1887–1901
T R Wilson* 1894–1895
T W Jackson* 1885–1894
Charles Hunt Symonds* 1857–1886
Alfred Agg* 1857–1886
Francis Jones* 1857–1885
Edward Grimes 1853–1857
Hugh Culling Earley Childers 1852–1853
Charles Hotson Ebden 1851–1852 

 *One of three Commissioners of Audit

Biographical information on all Auditors-General listed up to Wayne Cameron can be found in In the Public Interest: 150 years of the Victorian Auditor-General's Office by Peter Yule, which VAGO commissioned in 2001 to celebrate 150 years of public office.